Categories
Uncategorized

A Small Part of What We Are All Going Through

Yesterday was supposed to have been my big book signing event at my hometown bookstore. Of course, I had to cancel it for pandemic reasons.

I had been looking forward to it so much, and I waited until the absolute last minute to make the cancellation official.

What was funny was that I didn’t feel as bad after I canceled it as I had before, when I was getting ready to. All the work that I put into the preparation, the time, the money (not that it was a lot, but enough that I’ll be wishing I hadn’t). These are trying times for all of us; not just me. But it is still funny, weird, and surreal, this almost peace I’m feeling about it.

It is what it is.

I decided to do an online book giveaway since I have a stash of them at home now. That was definitely an experience! I was going to make a YouTube video and post it across my social media platforms. No problem, right? Anyone can make a video!

Six hours later …

I had a 6-minute video for YouTube that passed my “It’s gotta be great!” “It’s gotta be good!” “It’s gotta be okay!” “It’s gotta be done!” level of expectation, and two hours’ worth of bloopers – and they weren’t all caused by my cats. You know what they say about ‘best laid plans’!

It was definitely a learning experience. I am such an amateur!

But I will improve on all of it, my basic video skills, my speaking, my speaking ‘habits’… etc.

Tha hair looked good, though.

For your amusement, possible interest, and a practical demonstration of many what-not-to-dos, you can watch the video here.

I hope you all are well.

Keep writing. I can’t say that enough.

 

 

By TiaraMeSue

TiaraMeSue is the 50-something version of the 40-something Breck Girl.
Writer, photographer, crafter.

Leave a comment